Wotton u Edge to join Stroud in Boundary Commission changes

Changes are planned in a shake-up of MP’s electoral boundaries.

Gloucestershire’s electoral areas are set to be redrawn under the initial plans announced today by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) – an independent public body that reviews constituencies.

Under the new plans, Wotton under Edge will leave the Cotswold constituency and become part of the Stroud constituency.

This means, if approved, the area will not be served by the Cotswolds MP, but by Stroud’s MP.

The Stroud constituency MP is currently Siobhan Baillie, while the MP for the Cotswolds is Geoffrey Clifton-Brown.

The Boundary Commission says the aim is to make Parliament fairer by giving each MP a similar number of voters.

The changes will now be subject to consultations and revisions.

This first consultation will run for eight weeks, before closing on August 2.

A second consultation with public hearings will then take place in spring 2022, followed by a final four-week consultation in autumn 2022.

The Boundary Commission said: “By law, every constituency we propose must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 Parliamentary electors (as at 2 March 2020).

“As far as possible, we try to have regard to local ties, geographic factors, local government boundaries (as they were known at 1 December 2020), existing constituencies, and minimising disruption caused by proposed change.”

To comment on the changes, visit: bcereviews.org.uk/

Gazette Series Gloucestershire